Skip to Main Content

Faculty members : teaching and research support

How to access library resources?

All UOB instructors can access UOB collections:

  • On-campus by consulting materials in the library reading areas
  • Off-campus by borrowing printed material or by accessing remotely our online resources 

The online resources provided through UOB libraries website are accessible only for current UOB instructors.

  • If you are On-campus: Use any computer connected to UOB network
  • If you are Off-campus: Log in using your UOB email account (user name and password). If you forgot your password, contact the IT Department 

For any assistance email us on: reference@balamand.edu.lb  

Library open and closed stacks

  • Library book collection, Reference collection and current periodicals at Issam Fares Learning Library are stored in the open stacks at the 1st and 2nd floors. This allows all instructors to access the stacks and browse the books on the shelves for themselves. 
  • Other stacks storing different collections, such as Archives and special collections, theses and projects, are closed for public and materials are retrieved upon request.

Loan categories 

Loan category Number of items Loan period
Full-time faculty 30 1 academic semester
Part-time faculty 7 1 academic semester

  • Building use materials are: 
    • Archives & Special Collection
    • Reference collection (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)
    • Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, etc.) 

Online reservation and renewal

  • On loan items may be renewed online only if they are not overdue or reserved by another user.
  • In case an item is needed and is not available (i.e. on loan to another user), a reservation may be placed.
  • You can renew or reserve Library materials, view due dates and check your loan history through your Library Account on UOB Libraries Catalog. Logging in requires only your UOB ID number.  

Document Delivery Service

  • This service supports scholarly research and allows instructors to request materials (print and electronic journal articles, books, proceedings, etc.) available from other UOB campuses or other universities libraries. For more information on Document Delivery Service click here