Skip to Main Content

New students

The purpose of this guide is to introduce to all new students quick and practical information on how to access, use the library services and get help

 

Borrowing and access privileges

 

What's on this page?

 

All UOB students can access UOB collections:

  • On-site by consulting materials in the library reading areas
  • Off campus by borrowing printed material or by accessing remotely our online resources 

Online resources access

The online resources provided through UOB libraries website are accessible only for current UOB students.

  • If you are On campus: Use any computer connected to UOB network
  • If you are Off campus: Log in using your UOB email account (user name and password). If you forgot your password, contact the IT Department 

For any assistance email us on: reference@balamand.edu.lb  

Library open and closed stacks

  • Library book collection, Reference collection and current periodicals at Issam Fares Learning Library are stored in the open stacks at the 1st and 2nd floors. This allows all students to access the stacks and browse the books on the shelves for themselves. 
  • Other stacks storing different collections, such as Archives and special collections, theses and projects, are closed for public and materials are retrieved for students upon request.

Borrowing procedure

  • Search the online catalog for the material needed
  • Record your findings (title, name, location, shelf, shelfmark, status, and category)
  • Head to the library open stacks (2nd floor) where the assistant will help you to locate the items you searched for
  • Once you find the items, head to the circulation desk (ground floor) and show a valid university ID to check-out the materials
  • Opening Hours for Borrowing : Monday till Friday, 8:00 a.m. till 4:30 p.m.

Loan categories for undergraduate students

  • Each student can borrow up to 7 items
  • Loan categories are :

    Loan category Loan period Collection
    Standard Loan 14 days General collection
    Short loan 2 hours Course reserves
    Overnight loan from 2:30 p.m. till 8:30 a.m. Course reserves
  • Building use materials are: 
    • Archives & Special Collection
    • Reference collection (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)
    • Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, etc.) 

Overdue charges and fines

  • An ascending charge of 1 USD per item per day is levied on each standard loan item that is not returned or renewed on time.
  • Charges are assessed retroactively from the first day that the item was overdue, and up to 3 weeks. After this period charges will stop and the item will be considered lost.
  • If the item was not returned, the user will have to pay the accumulated charges plus the replacement cost of the item.
  • Failure to pay overdue charges and/or replacement fees will result in the blocking of library borrowing privileges and the university clearance form will not be signed until payment is settled. 

Renewing and reserving online

  • On loan items may be renewed online only if they are not overdue or reserved by another user.
  • Reservations: In case an item is needed and is not available (i.e. on loan to another user), a reservation may be placed at the circulation desk.

Course reserves 

  • Course reserves (print and electronic) are materials (including books, disks, A/V materials, journal articles and/or photocopies, electronic resources, instructional equipment and non-book items) chosen by the faculty to support class instruction.
  • Course Reserve materials are located on the ground floor of Issam Fares Library Learning Center, at the Circulation Desk in Abi Chahla Medical Library, the Saint John of Damascus Institute of Theology Library, Souk El Ghareb Campus Library and ALBA Library (Sin-El-Fil). Electronic materials can be accessed through the integrated library system. In general, materials on reserve are not to be checked out. If instructed by the professor, materials on reserve can be borrowed for two hours only during the day or overnight.
  • Course Reserve materials must be returned to the same service desk from which they were borrowed. 
  • Fees for overdue Course Reserve materials are assessed at the rate of 1 USD for each overdue hour, including overnight. For unreturned material, additional replacement and processing fees may also be assessed.
  • To access the current course reserve materials please click here.

Document Delivery Service

  • This service allows students to request materials  (articles, books, proceedings, etc.) available from other UOB campuses or other universities libraries. For more information on Document Delivery Service click here