Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 10,000 full-text periodicals, including 9,017 peer-reviewed journals, out of which 6,506 are available in full-text with no embargo; and more than 17,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc
An online collection of over 500 high-quality reference books: encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, as well as subject -specific titles covering a range of subject matters, such as art, business, literature, and science. It includes Almanacs, Biography and Genealogy, Dictionaries and Thesauri, Encyclopedias, Maps, Atlases, and Gazetteers, Multi-Subject material, Quotations, Speeches and Transcripts and Statistics and Datasets.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary collection contains over 120,000 eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter from various leading publishers.
Is a journal archive which holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, the so-called "moving wall" between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
More than 400 medical, scientific, and technical, full-text journals covering include clinical medicine, life sciences, nursing, physical science, evidence-based medicine, systematic reviews, and behavioral and social sciences.
Multidisciplinary full-text database which provides access to more than 15,000 publications. Covers current and international content in over 160 subject areas such as: business and economics; medicine and health; news and world affairs; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies. PQ Central is composed of a number of individual databases that can be searched individually or collectively, including ABI/INFORM global; ABI/INFORM trade & industry.
PQDT Global is a multidisciplinary database of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from colleges and universities in the United States, Canada, and Europe. It includes citations and abstracts from 1861 to the present and full-text for most of the dissertations since 1997.
Pubmed is provided by the US National Library of Medicine and it gives access to Medline, the database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, and allied health journal articles. Pubmed@UOB allows to link directly from Pubmed to the UOB Libraries full-text online collection.
Provides access to more than 1000 high-quality scholarly full-text journals . Coverage is strong in the fields of communication studies, criminology, education, health sciences, management & organization studies, materials science, political science, psychology, sociology, and urban studies. Full-text coverage is available from 1999 to present.
A multidisciplinary database offering access to peer-reviewed articles from journals published by Elsevier Science, Academic Press, Cell Press, and other science publishers and societies.
Subject coverage includes agricultural and biological sciences, biochemistry, genetics and molecular biology, business and management, engineering, computer science, economics and finance, energy and power, environmental science, immunology and microbiology, materials science, medicine, neuroscience, psychology, arts & humanities, and social sciences. Full-text coverage is available from 1995 to the present
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that allows researchers and institutions to track and count citations. Scopus combines a detailed abstract and citation database with data and links to scholarly content and tracks the use of citations in published research. It can be used to discover relevant research, identify experts and to access data, metrics and analytical tools.
A multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed full-text articles from 1,500 journals by Wiley and related publishers.Subjects covered include: business; chemistry; computer science; earth and environmental science; education; engineering; life sciences; mathematics and statistics; medicine and healthcare; physics and astronomy; polymers and materials science; psychology; and social sciences. Full rest coverage is available from 1996 to present.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Provides access to the International Monetary Fund's (IMF) periodicals, books, working papers, studies, and data and statistical tools.
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics.
Full-text searching across the eBooks and major reference work published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland, and Psychology Press. Subject coverage includes science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities, and social science.
